2016 Election Results

election results


President Elect 2016 –
Ellen Johnson was elected by unanimous vote



“I haveellen been actively involved in the MN IAFN since its inception. I have served on the education committee, first as a member and for the last 2 years as Chair of the committee. I care deeply about caring for victims of violence and have been doing so for 40 years as an ER nurse. I currently focus on my work with sexual assault victims and have been a SANE since 2002, and have served as the Supervisor of the Regions SANE Program since 2005. I feel I have the best job in the world because I get to care for patients who have been sexually assaulted, as well as support the nurses who do this work. I enjoy teaching and have Co-coordinated the SANE course along with Karine Zakroczymski of the Allina program since 2006. I also enjoy working with community partners such as Advocacy and Law Enforcement. I am especially interested in trauma informed practices and helping incorporate these concepts community wide. I firmly believe that the best predictor of future performance is past performance and would like to continue serving the Chapter in the role of president elect.”
Changes to the MN IAFN Chapter Bylaws (Bylaws available for viewing under Bylaws Tab)

3.1.2  Membership Dues
Annual Chapter membership renewal may be made by paying the designated fee for both IAFN and the MN Chapter to the IAFN.  IAFN Lifetime members may renew their MN Chapter membership in January.  Annual Chapter membership dues may be paid directly to the MN Chapter or in combination with annual IAFN renewal. If a member elects to pay the MN Chapter Annual membership renewal directly to the Minnesota Chapter it must be paid in January.
4.4  Vacancies
Any vacancy in the Chapter Board of Directors arising at any time and from any cause, may be filled for the unexpired term at any meeting of the Chapter Board of Directors by the affirmative vote of the majority of the Chapter Board of Directors then in office. A Chapter Board of Directors so elected shall hold office through the duration of the original term. Notification of such action shall be immediately sent to the main office.
(a) Resignation of President: President Elect will take the position of President early and the Chapter Board of Directors will appoint a MN IAFN member to replace the position of Immediate Past President as “Director at Large” (position length: 1-year plus the amount of time remaining in the President’s current position)
(b) Resignation of Immediate Past President: Board will appoint a MN IAFN member to fill the position of Immediate Past President as “Director at Large” (position length: remainder of term)
(c) Resignation of President Elect: Board will hold a special election to nominate and vote on a new individual to the position of President Elect. (Position length: 3 years – president – elect, president, immediate past president)
4.6 Number and Qualifications
The Chapter Board of Directors shall consist of the following positions: President, Immediate Past President, President-Elect, Secretary/Treasurer, and Director at Large. (Proposed change for 2016: replace Director at Large with Education Director to start in 2017 for a two year term)